Nareh Arghamanyan

Highly acclaimed for her unique style, colorful tone and dazzling virtuosity, Nareh Arghamanyan is one of the promising talents of her generation.

She has given debuts with orchestras such as the Vienna Symphony, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, Tonhalleorchester Zurich, hr-Sinfonieorchester Frankfurt, NDR Sinfonieorchester Hamburg, Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchseter Berlin, Orchestre Philharmonique de Strasbourg, and Orchestre Philharmonique de Monte-Carlo, RTE Dublin, Hong Kong Sinfonietta, Vancouver and Utah Symphonies.  She has performed at Wigmore Hall, Philharmonie Berlin, Laieszhalle Hamburg, Herkulessaal Munich, Konzerthaus Vienna, Musikverein Vienna, Piano Festival Lucerne, Lincoln Center New York, Kimmel Center Philadelphia, and Gardner Museum Boston.

Following a highly successful debut at the Goldener Saal of Vienna’s prestigious Musikverein with the Radio-Symphonieorchester Vienna, Nareh Arghamanyan makes her Swedish debut in the 2015-16 season playing Prokofiev’s 3rd Piano Concerto with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra.  She also makes her debut with the MDR Sinfonieorchester Leipzig playing Khachaturian’s piano concerto, and embarks on a tour to the Brucknerfest in Linz as well as the Musikverein in Vienna as part of the 100 years of the Armenian genocide commemoration program Roots of Revival.  Elsewhere she appears with the Stuttgart Philharmonic Orchestra on tour in Italy, and returns to the Munich Symphony following her successful debut there last season.   In addition, Arghamanyan appears with the Armenian Philharmonic in Yerevan performing Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto #3 in a concert marking the re-opening of the Aram Khachaturian Concert Hall in Yerevan.  Arghamanyan will give numerous recitals in France and Germany and in the U.S. will give two recitals on Portland’s International Piano Series.  She appears in Boston’s Jordan Hall with the Boston Modern Orchestra Project in a concert commemorating the centennial of the Armenian Genocide.

Nareh Arghamanyan is a regular guest at international festivals such as the Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, Festival de Lanaudiere, Marlboro Festival, and Singapore Piano Festival.  Conductors she works with include Alain Altinoglu, John Axelrod, Stefan Blunier, Kevin John Edusel, Howard Griffiths, Carl St. Clair, Sir Neville Marriner, Michael Sanderling, Kazuki Yamada, Xian Zhang, Jean-Marie Zeitouni, and Christoph Poppen.

In 2011 Arghamanyan signed an exclusive recording contract with Pentatone, releasing a CD of solo works by Rachmaninoff and a disc featuring the Liszt concertos, recorded with the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin and Alain Altinoglu (2012).   Her latest recording, released in November 2014, includes the piano concerto by Khachaturian as well as Prokofiev’s third piano concert.  

Born in Armenia in 1989 she studied with Alexander Gurgenov at the Tchaikovsky Music School for Talented Children in Yerevan and became the youngest student to be admitted to the University for Music and Performing Arts in Vienna, where she studied with Heinz Medjimorec, and chamber music with Avedis Kouyoumdjian.  Currently she continues her studies with Arie Vardi in Hannover and with Kouyoumdjian in Vienna. 

Nareh Arghamanyan is a laureate of many international piano competitions including the First Prize Winner at the 2008 Montreal International Music Competition, 2007 Piano Campus International Competition in Pontoise, as well as the 2005 Josef Dichler Piano Competition Vienna. 


JAN 16, 2016

SAT 4:00pm  


J.S. Bach                                                   

  • Goldberg Variations

- dedicated to the 100th anniversary of the Armenian genocide - 

Arno Babajanyan  / Nareh Arghamanyan

  • Aria vocalise

Arvo Pärt                                         

  • Für Alina

Komitas / Robert Andreasian                

  • Selected works from 6 Songs

Komitas / Nareh Arghamanyan

  • Hommage à Komitas

Harutyun Dellalian                                             

  • Dedicated to Komitas


  • Three Pictures from The Firebird Suite



  • Soiree de Vienne, Paraphrase on Fledermaus

JAN 17, 2016

SUN 4:00pm  


Robert Schumann                                          

  • Faschingsschwank aus Wien, Op. 26 

Johannes Brahms                                                

  • 3 Intermezzi, Op. 117

Nikolai Medtner                                              

  • Sonata Reminiscenza in A minor

Sergei Rachmaninov / Earl Wild                       

  • O cease the singing, Op. 4, No. 4

Sergei Rachmaninov

  • Lilacs, Op. 21 No. 5

Sergei Rachmaninov / Earl Wild         

  • Sorrow in Springtime, Op. 21 No. 12

Sergei Rachmaninov                         

  • Daisies, Op, 38, No. 3

Sergei Rachmaninov /Earl Wild       

  • Dreams, Op. 38 No. 5
  • Vocalise, Op. 34, No. 14

George Gershwin/ Earl Wild                         

  • The Man I Love 
  • Embraceable You 

Mily Balakirev                                             

  • Islamey