The indisputable winner of the Queen Elisabeth Competition (2016), Lukáš Vondráček joins us in Portland for two Eastern Europe-inspired programs featuring composers who were from or influenced by that region: Smetana, Novák, Suk, Schumann, Schubert, Brahms, and Scriabin.

He has worked with esteemed conductors including Paavo Järvi, Gianandrea Noseda, Marin Alsop, and Christoph Eschenbach and highly regarded orchestras such as The Philadelphia Orchestra and St. Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra. Recital appearances have taken him to London’s Wigmore Hall, New York’s Carnegie Hall, Zurich’s Tonhalle, Vienna’s Konzerthaus, and Amsterdam’s Concertgebouw.

"…I was amazed by Lukas Vondracek's playing…He deserves a lot of attention…"
-Vladimir Ashkenazy

FEB 10, 2018



NOTE: All programs subject to change


  • Memories, Op. 6


  • Love Song, Op. 7


  • Four Czech Dances, JB 1:114 from Book II


  • Transcendental Etude No. 9 in A-flat Major, S. 139 Ricordanza


  • Carnaval, Op. 9

Schumann: Träumerei (Dreaming) from Kinderszenen (Scenes from Childhood), No. 7 (Encore)

FEB 11, 2018




  • Sonata in B-flat Major, No. 21, D. 960


  • Sonata in C Major, Op. 1, No. 1


  • Fantasie, Op. 28

Brahms: Intermezzo in A Major, Op. 118, No. 2 (Encore)






The indisputable winner of the International Queen Elisabeth Piano Competition 2016, Lukáš Vondráček made his first public appearance at the age of four. His debut as a fifteen-year-old in 2002 with the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra and Vladimir Ashkenazy was followed by a major US tour in 2003. His natural and assured musicality and remarkable technical ability have long marked him out as a gifted and mature musician. He has worked with conductors including Paavo Järvi, Gianandrea Noseda, Marin Alsop, Christoph Eschenbach, Pietari Inkinen, Vasily Petrenko, Jakub Hrůša, Anu Tali, Xian Zhang, Krzysztof Urbański, Stéphane Denève and Alexander Lazarev.

Highlights of the 2016 / 2017 season include concerts with The Philadelphia Orchestra, Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, Orchestre National de Belgique, Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, Orquesta Filarmonica de Gran Canaria, St. Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra, Orchestre Philharmonique Royal de Liège and a return to the New Jersey Symphony Orchestra. He will tour Brazil, India and appear in recitals in Hong Kong, Leipzig Gewandhaus, Prague’s Rudolfinum and Klavier-Festival Ruhr.

Recent recitals have taken Lukáš to London’s Wigmore Hall, New York’s Carnegie Hall, Zurich’s Tonhalle, Vienna’s Konzerthaus, Amsterdam’s Concertgebouw, Casa da Música in Porto, Palais des Beaux Arts in Brussels, Cité de la Musique in Paris, Auditorio Nacional de Madrid, Washington Performing Arts Society, Boston Celebrity Series as well as Festival La Roque d’Anthéron, Gilmore Festival and the renowned Piano aux Jacobins series in Toulouse among others.

He works regularly with ensembles such as the London and Royal Liverpool philharmonic orchestras, the Philharmonia and Gulbenkian orchestras, Wiener Symphoniker, Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester, NHK Symphony Orchestra, Washington’s National and Cincinnati Symphony orchestras. Recent highlights include a tour of Spain with the Orquesta Sinfónica de Euskadi and a highly successful tour of Australia including appearances with the West Australian and Sydney symphony orchestras.

International awards include first prizes at the Hilton Head and San Marino International Piano Competitions and Unisa International Piano Competition in Pretoria, South Africa, as well as the Raymond E. Buck Jury Discretionary Award at the 2009 International Van Cliburn Piano Competition.

Following studies at the Academy of Music in Katowice and the Vienna Conservatoire, Lukáš Vondráček obtained an Artist Diploma from Boston's New England Conservatory under the tutelage of Hung-Kuan Chen, graduating with Honors in 2012.

His first commercial recording, a solo album for Octavia Records, was released in 2004 followed by another recital disc in 2012. His most recent CD, a recording of works by Brahms was released in autumn 2013 on the ORF label.